Sonoma Christian Home Banner
Erica Galindo
Celebrating Food, Faith and Family
Last edited on: November 20, 2014.

The 45th Gospel Music Association Dove Awards are back with better-than-ever performances, presenters and partners!

Hosted by Bart Millard of MercyMe with gospel rap artist Lecrae, the show took place on October 7, 2014 at the Allen Arena in Nashville, Tennessee. The awards were then specially broadcasted on renowned The Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) October 12th.

Bart Millard, member of MercyMe and Lecrae, hosted this year’s 45th annual GMA Dove Awards; Photo courtesy of Dave Trout.

Awards acknowledged 46 diverse entertainment categories, including four special award recipients. The pre-show ceremony, sponsored by SoundExchange, brought show stopping performances to the stage. Co-host Jonathan McReynolds, William McDowell, Flame, The Perrys, Finding Favor and even the JJ Weeks band performed for at this special event.


The Winners:

Hillsong UNITED’s song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” won the award for Song of the Year, Pop/contemporary Recorded Song of the Year and Worship Song of the Year. The band also took home trophies for Artist of the Year and Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year. Photo courtesy of

Song of the Year

“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” – Hillsong UNITED, (writers) Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing/

Songwriter of the Year

Chris Tomlin

Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year

“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” – Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music/Sparrow Records, (producer) Michael Guy Chislett

Southern Gospel Performance of the Year

“Say Amen” – Brian Free & Assurance, Daywind Records, (producer) Ricky Free

Gospel Performance of the Year

“I Can Only Imagine” – Tamela Mann, TillyMann Music Group, (producer) Myron Butler

Artist of the Year

Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music

New Artist of the Year

Ellie Holcomb, Full Heart

Producer of the Year

Ed Cash

Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year

“100” – KB (ft. Andy Mineo), (writers) Kevin Burgess, Andy Mineo, Lasanna “ACE” Harris, Joseph Prielozny

Rock Song of the Year

“Not Gonna Die” – Skillet, (writers) John Cooper, Korey Cooper

Switchfoot won the award for Rock Contemporary Song of the Year for their song “Love Alone is Worth the Fight.” The band also earned Dove Awards for Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year for Fading West and the Long Form Video of the Year award. Photo courtesy of

Rock/Contemporary Song of the Year

“Love Alone Is Worth The Fight” – Switchfoot, (writers) Jon Foreman, Tim Foreman

Pop/Contemporary Song of the Year

“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” – Hillsong UNITED, (writers) Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm

Inspirational Song of the Year

“You Amaze Us” – Selah, (writers) Jordan Mohilowski, Matthew Adcox, Douglas Fowler

Southern Gospel Song of the Year

“Revival” – Karen Peck & New River, (writers) Kenna Turner West, Karen Peck Gooch, Don Poythress

Bluegrass Song of the Year

“Won’t It Be Wonderful There” – Dailey & Vincent, (writer) Mildred Johnson

Country Song of the Year

“Love With Open Arms” – Doug Anderson (writers) Jeff Bumgardner, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Song of the Year

“Every Praise” – Hezekiah Walker, (writer) David Bratton, Hezekiah Walker

Traditional Gospel Song of the Year

“A Little More Jesus” – Erica Campbell, (writers) Erica Campbell, Tina Campbell, Warryn Campbell

Worship Song of the Year

“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” – Hillsong UNITED, (writers) Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing/

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year

Never Land – Andy Mineo, (producers) Joseph Prielozny, Alex Medina, Tyshane Thompson, Gabriel Azucena, Ray Castro, Dre Garcia, Alex Hitchens, Courtney Peebles

Rock Album of the Year

Rise – Skillet, (producer) Howard Benson

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year

Fading West – Switchfoot, (producers) Neal Avron, the Foreman Brothers

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year

Overcomer – Mandisa, (producers) David Garcia, Christopher Stevens, Chuck Butler, Ronald Rawls

Inspirational Album of the Year

Hymns – Michael W. Smith, (producers) Kyle Lee, Jim Daneker

Southern Gospel Album of the Year

Oh What a Savior – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (producer) Wayne Haun

Bluegrass Album of the Year

Every Mile – Nathan Stanley, (producers) Terry Thompson, Nathan Stanley, Rhonda Thompson

Country Album of the Year

Drive – Doug Anderson, (producer) Wayne Haun

Contemporary/Gospel Urban Album of the Year

Greater Than – Tye Tribbett, (producers) Tye Tribbett, Brandon Jones

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year

Duets – Donnie McClurkin, (producers) Donnie McClurkin, Asaph A. Ward, Aaron W. Lindsey, Trent Phillips, Justin Savage, Israel Houghton

Instrumental Album of the Year

…to kids from 1 to 92 – Tracey Phillips, (producer) Tracey Phillips

Children’s Music Album of the Year

25 Favorite Bible Songs – Veggie Tales, (producers) Mike Nawrocki, Kurt Heinecke, Christopher Davis, Steven V. Taylor

Spanish Language Album of the Year

Aviva – Soulfire Revolution, (producers) Jeremy Edwardson, Jonathan Berlin

Special Event Album of the Year

Cathedrals Family Reunion – Gerald Wolfe, Ernie Haase, Danny Funderburk, Scott Fowler, Mark Trammell, (producers) Wayne Haun, Landon Beene, Gerald Wolfe and Ernie Haase

Christmas Album of the Year

Christmas Is Here – Brandon Heath, (producer) Ben Shive

Praise and Worship Album of the Year

Majestic – Kari Jobe, (producer) Jeremy Edwardson

Musical of the Year

Highest Glory, (creator) Marty Funderburk

Youth/Children’s Musical of the Year

God Made You Special – A Musical about God’s Love…and You! (creators) Cherry Garasi, Pamela Vandewalker

Choral Collection of the Year

Everlasting Praise 4, (creators) Mike Speck, Stan Whitmire

Recorded Music Packaging of the Year

The Extremist – Demon Hunter, (art director) Invisible Creature, Inc., (design) Ryan Clark (photography) Cale Glendening, Ryan Clark

Short Form Video of the Year

Shake – Mercy Me, (director) Joel Banta, (producer) Joel Banta, Bilby Films

Long Form Video of the Year

Fading West – Switchfoot, (director) Matt Katsolis, (producers) Chad Butler, Paul Kerby, Interpret Studios, Lowercase People

Inspirational Film of the Year

God’s Not Dead, (director) Harold Cronk, (producer) Pure Flix Entertainment





St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital returns for their second consecutive year as partners of the Dove Cares Red Carpet. St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital is leading the way the world understands, treats and defeats childhood cancer and other life-threatening diseases. Treatments invented at St. Jude have helped push the overall childhood cancer survival rate from 20 percent to more than 80 percent since it opened 50 years ago, and St. Jude is working to drive the overall survival rate for childhood cancer to 90 percent in the next decade.

The hospital freely shares the breakthroughs it makes, so every child saved at St. Jude means doctors and scientists worldwide can use that knowledge to save thousands more children.

“Last year’s addition of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital to the Dove Cares Red Carpet experience made a lasting impression on the participating artists,” says GMA President and Executive Director Jackie Patillo. “Their presence brings an incredible energy and fresh perspective to what we all have to celebrate.”


To find out more information about the 45th Annual GMA Dove Awards, visit their website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

At this time, we ask you refrain from purchasing on the Sonoma Christian Home store. We are in the process of performing updates and in the meantime we would ask you hold off on new orders. We will make an announcement once our store is back in action! Dismiss